This is a lovely time of year for Birdsong, they are so busy. Nest building and trying chat up a mate ..

9 30pm walking my Lucy (Lurcher) The sound of the birds was spell bounding. Swallows were busy high in the sky and even  came close to Lucy as they sped by her head. Not entirely sure what that meant.

The Woodpecker came by and fed on my peanuts , always a pleasure to see them. The pretty little Goldfinch has hung about for while longer than usual, I think maybe they settled to build a nest here . With so many Trees all thick and green there’s plenty to choose from. Oh that’s wonderful !

A cheeky large breed Duck has popped over from next doors Pond. I think he is three times bigger than the Mallards on the Lake . Must be short of females I since have discovered. So invited himself over , has been here for 4 weeks now. Two years ago a family of Mallards produced a pair  had more white than the normal Ducklings. These two survived and seem to be a bit larger and tougher. MMM  me thinks I know now who the father is.  Oh and most of the rest of the family did . Often see him sitting close to two Drakes as if he knew they were his off Springs. Ha !

Taking a break see upload the pictures shortly ..Catch you Later have a lovely Day.

 

 

 

About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

2 responses »

  1. Arlene Philips says:

    Hi Sheila lovely post, I too have the blackbirds singing their hearts out, vied by the robins, ! Unfortunately I still haven’t seen any swifts, in fact not for a couple of years, also the swallows are lacking presence, i pray to God they are going to turn up, What horrors that would be, no swallows . !!! I bet that drake is preening himself thinking he’s starting off a whole new breed line Ha, ha, what a beautiful place you live in. , though this is also a nice area. Take care and enjoy the sunshine, tomorrow is going to be even warmer Wonderful xx

  2. Will look out for those pictures Sheila.. And yes agree with you my friend.. Those blackbird songs and bird song in general are beautiful, especially this time of year..
    I was sat on our garden swing the other evening and a blackbird who had made his and her nest in our tree were chirping their song to other blackbirds near by..
    The range of their vocabulary is stunning when one is close by to hear their trills, chirps and cheeps.. So amazing.

    A woodpecker , how special a visitor is that.. Wonderful to have in your garden.
    Sending LOVE and many thanks also for your recent visit.. I am pleased you called as I had missed this updated post of yours.. 🙂

    Love and Light to your Sheila ❤ xxx ❤

Leave a Reply

