Being  a chilly start to October hasn’t put off the Collard  Doves having another brood. The Fir tree in the garden gave them a little more protection than previous years. I have encounter a few upsetting eggs that were taken by the Maggie pie sorry to give him a bad name.

Oh what Joy!  I saw them for the first time yesterday afternoon, after hearing some strange noises high up in the tree earlier on.

Three or four not quite sure looking very well , smaller than mum and Dad. I can’t tell you how happy I was to see them at last.

Just look at these lovely Cooking Apples this year , so plenty of Apple Pies and Crumble. Yummy. Very happy with these .

Oct 2014 010 It has  sure has been a damp and dismal October , Summer seems like many Moons ago.

The Fir tree ( there are or were three) that was cut down because of power lines.,has given the Fuchsia  opportunity to spread its wings . Around the base  of the tree it was a poor little morsel, but look at it now…Nature Wonderful.

October 2014 one day 009We had visitor’s from London beginning of September , the weather was fantastic. They enjoyed a long weekend helping with the garden , and they both thoroughly enjoyed it.  I helped by making the drinks and sandwiches at the time .

Also cooked a lovely meal for them in the evening . Lucy ( my Lurcher ) had such fun she so enjoys people around. She just plodded around with them until someone was kind enough to throw her ball. Dashing off to return it for an action replay please.

Good time had by all,  that 2 acre garden  has many benefits as well as plenty of work to do. It’s so good when family give a helping hand  and the weather is warm and sunny.   Couldn’t have asked for a more Perfect Weekend. !

Bye for now ..

About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

8 responses »

  1. Arlene says:

    Hi Sheila, loved this post, sorry for delay, but I’ve been using my tablet and it’s had me change p’words for everything. I’ve had a family of magpies take residence in the firs after the gulls took over their post and I’m afraid they’ve wrecked havoc on my birds, despite putting out all sorts of goodies there’s hardly a feather, I could cry.
    How nice to have had friends to stay AND help out with the garden, send them to me as I have a large hedge that needs attention LOL I did manage to get quite a lot of cutting back and tyding up to-day, but there’s still a bit to do. I’m having an early night as I got a new book from the library and can’t wait to start it, byee for now xx

    • natswans says:

      Thank Arlene winter months ahead and still quite a lot to do in the garden. Hope you get sorted with a spell of good weather. Enjoy your book , wonder what the book is called .
      Hugs xx

      • Arlene says:

        Been a lovely warm day today and got a lot done in the garden Sheila, another couple of good days and hopefully I can relax. The book is called The Invention of Wings, by Sue Monk Kidd it was chosen as book of the month by You magazine I’m enjoying it. ,She also wrote The Secret life of Bees.

  2. The Emu says:

    Good afternoon Sheila, so lovely to read your relaxing blog, and to see how you are faring.
    You have the cold weather while we are heading into Summer.
    Your garden sounds delightful, a veritable garden of Eden.
    So lovely you had help in your garden.
    We have our magpie problem here too, the little buggers swoop now that its breeding time.
    Wishing you much happiness Dear friend.
    Emu

  3. I love Collard Doves – the sound of them cooing in the firs outside the window always makes me think of summer.
    Love Lurchers, too – Millie, Pearl and I will be following you and Lucy 🙂

  4. Sounds like you have been busy.. And look at the size of those apples.. Its been an excellent year for apples here also.. and lucky for us we got loads given us by our daughter from her garden..
    I am happy Lucy got to play ball.. 🙂 and your visitors had good weather.. It really does make all the difference.. 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

