Holly in the garden

Holly in the garden AND ISN’T IT DOING WELL. 

Duck food ready and soaked as I headed up towards the Pond. I noticed a tiny sign of blooms. Just appearing was a tiny cluster of Snow Drops. As you can see the Holly is thriving to, very pleased with that.

The head count was 25 ducks in all, and there he is the little one he stands out from crowd. More white on him than the other’s , and always first in the Que. Ha !

I took myself into the little town last Thursday , to find it very quiet mmm. Hot coffee first in my favorite  coffee shop. Watching a few people running about doing their errands. It’s funny that how I find that very relaxing just to sit and take it all in  ..what a strange pleasure I get from just sitting there gazing out of the window, and people watching. Most of the shops where empty , so that gave me a good excuse to have a little banter with the sales staff. A little laugh goes a long way ..the grocer was busy himself cutting up a yellow pepper . He informed me it was for his stew, his mum had made a very large stew the day before. Which in turned he said would probably last him all week..LOL!  Birthday cards in January I always forget them for some reason. I commented on how people get rather upset when they don’t arrive on their Special Day . Hasten to add I had forgotten my brother-in-laws , so it would arrive a day late  Ooops!

Off home I think it looked like another downpour …so much rain . I feel very sorry for the people  effected by it all. Causing a lot of damage to their homes and business’s. A lot has been done to help , but you can do so much it has to go somewhere and it will find a way in the end.

Hope this post finds you all safe and well.

Enjoy  this coming Week 🙂

About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

17 responses »

  1. Hi Sheila, and glad the Ducks on your pond are all loving this weather LoL… Yes its been terrible for many whose homes are flooded, my thoughts are with them.. And yes so many berries still on the trees..
    The birds have been having a wonderful time upon our feeders and enjoying the seeds we put out.. Snow drops are one of the first flowers in spring I look forward to.. Such delicate blooms and yet they push their way through some harsh frozen ground at times..
    Glad you enjoyed your trip to town and Coffee… Take care and Keep warm and safe.. I think we may well get a cold snap next so wrap up well..

    Enjoy the rest of your week Sheila.. Hugs Sue xxxx

    • natswans says:

      Hi Sue thank you glad you enjoyed this post, yes it is a pleasing sight to see these precious little blooms.
      Stay warm a cold snap that will make a change then.
      Hugs x

  2. Oh,, and forgot to say Sheila.. HAPPY NEW YEAR! Wishing you good Health and Happiness… also Happy Blogging for 2014 xxx

  3. penelopephoebe says:

    Lovely holly, Sheila.

  4. Greetings Sheila, hope all is well with you.
    I enjoyed your blog, it was relaxing just seeing and reading about your Holly and, your description of your ducks. It is obvious they are special to you.
    Wishing you well my friend.
    Ian aka Emu

  5. Arlene says:

    Oh Sheila, what a lovely post and to think of the lovely summer months [hope there’s a lot] you’ll be able to enjoy these ducks. so lucky, Nice to sit and people watch eh? I just don’t seem to have the time any more, between you and me, I’ve been working n my other blog ‘My Dogs Past and Present’ remember it? I’m hoping to have it up and running soon [ish] I just pruned my holly as it was looking straggly and I want it to bulk out to encourage birds to nest.

  6. Beth says:

    I enjoyed this post Sheila!! It gave me hope that spring is on its way! xx

  7. penpusherpen says:

    Nearly missed out on this one Sheila, ’twas as if I was with you, every step of the way. watching the ducks as they fed. My garden looks so sorry for itself. Winter leaving it’s mark. But I know the plants (some anyway) will recover and flourish. You’re so right, too, we need the banter and laughter so much. Our spirits need the lightheartedness methinks. Is Li’l Lucy ok? hugs to you and she from me. xPenx

    • natswans says:

      Thank you Pen and it’s another drizzle day here . Lucy is happy but wished she could run in the garden…far too mushy. So much eye contact with Lucy , almost human I’d say ..and very clever picks things up very quickly.
      Enjoy your week , can’t believe it’s almost Friday again.
      Hugs xx

      • penpusherpen says:

        I remember those feelings well, Sheila, My Girl used to give me that special look, as if I should be able to turn off the weather at a stroke. Time is running away again, how can it be the 16th January already? We’ve just had Christmas for goodness sake. Sigh!! xxxx

  8. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    I love these moments of yours :). They’re peaceful. And fresh. And full of nature.

Leave a Reply

