Cookies for my Sister

 The past week has been Spring like here , so just in time for my sister’s visit. A good few days we enjoyed and laugh’s and walks. Wile-e was soo pleased to greet her at the door , as she tried to get inside I had to calm him down.

Now back to the garden there is certainly a lot to do , tidying up isn’t one of my favourite job’s I must admit. But I have managed to clear the small area in the front of the pathway. June brings (I hope ) Pink and Yellow roses in this area. The smell as you walk up the pathway is wonderful, so this area is important to keep clear. Also the long tall yellow flower which I have never found out what they are called I’m ashamed to say. I can just about see their tiny heads poking up from the cleared soil now.

First thing this Morning I could hear quite clearly the Song Thrush  singing high in the distant tree. I am so pleased to hear him this Spring, as last year he never showed up. He has in fact been here all Morning and is still belting out his beautiful tones.

On the Pond at the top of my garden I noticed a Moorhen in the reeds on her nest. So they should be due mid to end of April.

It rained last night so the ground is still wet , so until it dries out a bit more, why don’t you join me for tea and a Cookie.  The weather looks to be pretty good over the weekend , hope it is where-ever you are. Catch you later and Take care. 🙂

About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

8 responses »

  1. Beth Marie says:

    I am so glad you had such a great visit with your sister. The cookies look yummy!! What kind are they?
    I know your roses will be lovely as will the rest of your garden.
    I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

    Hugs to you and Wile-e!!

  2. Hi Sheila, so good to know you’ve been having a nice time with your sister’s visit. And yes a beautiful Spring like day here again today too… Im so happy that your update dropped in those cookie’s just what I wanted mid afternoon with a cuppa for a snack..
    Sounds as if you have you have plenty to keep you busy in the garden….
    We are decorating at the moment… Allotment all dug, next to get those seeds in potting compost.. ALL Go!!..
    Hope your garden soon drys Sheila and you get to finish all your tasks… Have a very enjoyable day.. Im just off to peg out my second lot of washing today… Make hay while the sun shines..
    Take care… ~Sue

  3. penelopephoebe says:

    You paint such a beautiful picture, Sheila.

  4. rosemarymonteith says:

    Glad you had a nice time, the cookies look yummy

  5. Arlene says:

    Currant cookies , yummy, keep the teapot hot please, I’ll help out with the garden in return. I’m sure your sister will appreciate them too. Send a picture of the yellow flower, I hate unsolved mysteries.
    I saw the thrush in the garden once very briefly this year, but not any more, though there are quite a few singing on the patch to the beach. Love to hear them too. look forward to the pics of the moorhens
    Hugs to you and Wile-e X

  6. Jorge Medico says:

    Thanks for stopping by. It’s always nice to find a new friend who enjoys some of the same things you do.
    Be well,
    J.

  7. The Emu says:

    What a beautiful and joyful blog to read this Saturday morning here in Australia
    My imagination came alive with images of an old English garden in Spring
    Thank you for sharing, wishing you much love and happiness
    Aussie Emu

  8. natswans says:

    Thank you all for your comments always appreciated , Lovely to hear. Will catch up very soon. xx

Leave a Reply

