Anyone for a spin around the Pond

Well maybe not Spring may be a better time I think. The Thaw is on here a little frosty but snow gone for now. The weekend is said to bring in more cold weather from the Arctic , oh no.

I spoke to my brother who lives up in the North East near Newcastle. He said it’s been really bad but the thaw is in as we speak. The snow is falling off the roof tops and blocking his backdoor. The pavements areΒ very dangerous and icy, he was watching a poor fella holding on the railing all the way up to his front door. There was nothing my brother could do but look out the window biting his lip. Yikes! My niece is pretty much same story 9 inches of snow and also thawing from the roof tops. Only thing is there is a leak somewhere and is coming in through the kitchen ceiling.

Wile-e is fine (greyhound) he has’nt been too steady on his paws, have to be careful with those long limbs. He did have a little slip onto his bottom but he’s ok. I have bought him a new dog coat all wool ready for the next spell of bad weather. Guess what it’s actually made in England.

Β I am off to try a new recipe Spiced Carrot and Bean Soup. To warm up , so take care and keep warm. I’ll let you know how it turns out..

About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

10 responses »

  1. penpusherpen says:

    I saw a news report about burst pipes through this freezing weather…there’s all sorts of disasters that happen as a result, things that don’t spring to mind at first… Fingers crossed that they’ll get everything sorted without any further problems.
    I bet Wile-e enjoys wearing his warm coat, Sheila, and it must be an extra worry for you, when he’s in slippery conditions, Bess’s legs are arthritic so I have to carry her out to the garden in really bad conditions, and I twitch every-time she staggers a bit, thank goodness the snow and the frosty conditions have thawed… Maybe I should get her some little boots, I’d be quite tempted if I found any!!
    That soup recipe sounds wonderful ‘n’ tasty…I’ll be the first to have a try out if you like? πŸ˜‰ xPenx

  2. penpusherpen says:

    Oh, forgot to say, I’ll pass on the spin around the pond…I can’t swim!! πŸ˜€ xx

  3. Brrrrrr…. yes… the thaw is here too.. but we have had sharp frosts at night.. the snow just going off our road now, and still piles of it everywhere where people dug themselves out.. I have a few days off work but Im back at the weekend just in time for the Icy Blast from up North to hit… so making the most of toasting my toes by the fire till then… and like Pen says I will give the spin on the pond a miss too LOL..
    Keep warm with your winter warmer soup!! Dreamwalker.. πŸ™‚

  4. Beth Marie says:

    I think we are sharing the same weather on both sides of the big pond. It is bitter cold here with snow and ice.
    I am glad Wile-e is ok from his fall.
    xox

  5. It’s not bad here yet, just real cold, gonna be colder tonight. We’re spared all the snow. It’s bad enough to have the thaw blocking the door, but a leak in the kitchen, bad. That soup sure sounds good and comforting. Maybe you’ll take a photo of Wile-e in his new coat. I’m glad he’s OK from his fall.

  6. penelopephoebe says:

    Hiya Sheila. I am happy to read Wile-e survived his fall without injury. I remember seeing Bambi skating on ice in the film of that name. Wile-e must have looked like that. I bet he loves his new coat. Take care and wrap up warm, yourself. Pen.

Leave a Reply

