Holly from the Garden

What a beautiful Morning the snow has arrived ,at the moment only a light dusting. The sunrise was amazing it shone straight through my window. It gives you a feeling of its great to be alive. As some of you know we have 2 acres and the pond at the top of the garden.Wile-e my greyhound, and I took a fresh walk around the garden he didn’t know what to make of it, as he skipped shook and got all excited, so funny.

The holly was ready for picking on Monday so as you see looks really pretty in my vase. The berries at the top have been eaten by the blackbirds, so I thought I had better get a move on. I am off shortly to sweep the path down and fill up the birds feeders. So have a great day wrap up , although I hear its going to stay cold for another two weeks brrrr. Take care and if you are driving go easy. Bye for now…

About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

20 responses »

  1. Hi Sheila
    You sound as though you are going to be busy ! We have not got the snow yet, but we went out yesterday to get some essentials in stock just in case, the forecast is that we can expect heavy snow by the weekend. At least we are nice and snug and warm in front of the fire. Enjoy your day – dont work too hard. Take Care. Love Marjie x

  2. Morning Sheila…. Lovely Holly…… We have Blue skies and sunshine here in the East Midlands at the moment.. and its just above freezing, we have had a sharp Frost though and snow flurries are forcast for later, but the skies are clear as yet… It can wait until the weekend lol.. as Im on nights tonight at work.. so hope I dont have to dig the car out to get home tomorrow.. But once home I have 3 days off LOL. so it can do what it likes haha…..
    Stay warm too… and give a hug to Wile-e xx

  3. technogran1 says:

    We haven’t had any here yet. I love snow. Yes I know it can cause havoc with traffic etc, but in some way, its lovely when you walk down to town and there is no sound of traffic and its all quiet.
    It lightens and brightens everything it touches.

  4. natswans says:

    Yes TG it does brighten up everything much better that a dull wet morning.

  5. penelopephoebe says:

    Hiya Sheila. I can just imagine Wile-e in the snow. Dogs are such fun. We have no snow here in the south east but I think we are due some. Love your vase of holly berries. Take care. Pen.

  6. penpusherpen says:

    HI there Sheila,
    Noticed on the news this morning that Northumberland and Scotland have been carpeted in snow, bringing some things to a standstill…Brrrr..definitely wrap up when a out and keep warm indoors when you don’t need to outside.!! and the red berries on the holly look fantastic against the white background, a very pretty display..
    Bess loved to jump about in snow when she was younger, and even now can’t resist a few leaps around…so I can just imagine Wile-e (Coyote?) doing the same… Snow is so pretty on cards and when it’s first fallen, but such a danger , especially when there’s been overnight frost to ice between the layers… Fingers crossed for no bad car accidents to mar this season of chill… Have a great day my friend. xPenx

    • penpusherpen says:

      I didn’t know about Wile-e being a rescue dog, Sheila, he’s very lucky to have you for a ‘mum’, and it sounds like you’re lucky too, to have a wonderful playful, loving fella…thanks for your comment, always appreciated. ‘cos you know, I sometimes wonder where these ideas for poems and stories come from… Maybe…just maybe, methinks I was a balladeer in a previous life?… Hmm… šŸ˜‰
      Woofs to Wile-e from Bess…xPenx

      • penpusherpen says:

        Forget my head if ’twere loose, Sheila, I just uploaded a photo of my late father in laws cactus which I told you about.. …flowering at it’s usual time, and giving us a memory of him…

        hope the link works…I keep forgetting which one to copy!
        I took it with my mobile phone, so it might be slightly out of focus!! xPenx

  7. technogran says:

    We’ve just had a few of those minute tiny flakes this morning during exercise class. Still it s forecast for tomorrow I think.

  8. technogran says:

    Had a light dusting here during the night. Now it all looks ready for Christmas!

  9. No snow Photos? I love snow and seldom see anything but a dusting since moving here.

    • natswans says:

      Hi Greatgranny my camera’s getting checked out so I can’t take any photo’s shame because the garden looks lovely, and the Pond is iced up again.Thank you for your visit. x

  10. Hi Sheila… Snow ~weather Update~ Lol…. We had 6inches of snow overnight and awoke to a winter wonderland,,,, I have already been for a 2hr walk and took some pictures Love the snow when I dont have to Drive in it… Stay warm all of you out there… lovely to read the different snow reports… Hugs xx

    • natswans says:

      Hi Dreamwalker sounds like a lovely walk especially when the snow is fresh under foot. Bet you are glad to have that long weekend off. Yes I don’t like driving in it at all. Sunny today very icy this morning , so lovely just looking out towards Dartmoor. Hugs xx

  11. penpusherpen says:

    Hi Sheila,
    we have snow, it’s fallen overnight and now it’s drifting down again…brrrr,
    and I’m sure your colour is green n’gold my friend…I’ll think I’ll be RED…as in the red-hot and snow melting kind… (and of course Manchester United colours too!!! ) šŸ˜‰
    here’s a link to a fun piccie, don’t forget to …..DUCK!!

    Have a fantastic warmth filled week, xPenx

  12. Hi Sheila, We seem to be in a little pocket where we are lucky enough to not be too bad snow wise, it is extremely cold and very icy, but not a huge amount of snow, although all around us they are a lot worse off. My sister is in Norfolk and they are snowed in ! Parts of Essex are horrendous, it took my daughter nearly 2 hours to do a journey she normally does in about 25 mins. Hope that you are keeping snug and warm Hugs Marjie x

Leave a Reply

