Holly in the garden

Oh look how the holly is coming along last month the berries were orange , but it’s sure looking ready for a picking. I am not sure whether the birds eat the berries or not, there are some in the garden that do get eaten by the blackbirds. Oh and a lovely Jay two days ago he was so fast no time to capture on my camera. I have put out the nuts and seeds and had a lot of interest, Blue tits, Coal tits, Sparrow’s Robins, Chaffinch and a Nuthatch. Oh and the ring necked Doves , I just love these.

Looking up to my Pond the water level has risen by 4 blocks, hence all the rain we have had. But the ducks are loving it.

Its A fine Time for Ducks

..Off to the shops now catch you later. Enjoy your day..

About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

7 responses »

  1. penelopephoebe says:

    Hiya Sheila. Jays are such beautiful birds. You can hardly credit they belong to the crow family.

  2. cocobean1240 says:

    I love the Blue Jay and I didn’t know they were in the crow family. The pond photo looks like it should be in a magazine, so nice. We had a holly bushes, but I never knew anything about them in regards to bird food.

  3. penpusherpen says:

    Thanks for your wonderful comments about Bess, Sheila. I know to some she just a dog, but she’s been there for me…walking my path for some years and she’s wrapped round my heart…
    and lovely, lovely birds…They lift us with their song, and just to see them raises the spirits…and a smile at the ducks… loved the photo’s.
    and almost forget to say, my cactus is flowering.. (the one which belonged to my Father In Law, it promises to every year just before Christmas…and here it is again…little colourful buds…xx)…bye for now my friend…xPenx

  4. Hi Sheila, just loving your garden.. and its so nice to get so many different birds in the garden…. We have stopped feeding our pond fish for the winter now… and we had a new baby fish which survived this summer, I hope too it makes it through the winter..
    Looking around all the hedrows here they too have been FULL of berries and I think we are in for a harsher winter than we had in the past…. So… lets hope all the hedehogs and frogs and all the things that need to go to sleep and keep warm have got tucked up nicely for winter…. As we turn up the heating a notch and bake our breads and cakes and put on our Hotpots and stews….. brrrrrrr…. its a windy cold damp day here Sheila… but its my day off and Im tucked up near a nice fire….
    I hope you got somthing nice from the shops. xx

  5. One of the few compensations of Autumn is the fact that we are able to see the birds more clearly, and the fact that they come to our bird tables and garden shrubs, like your holly, and enrich our lives. You have such a beautiful area I’m not surprised you see so many. Nice neat blog Sheila.

  6. Hi Sheila. Really lovely reading about your garden and the birds and ducks etc. Our garden is looking a bit sorry for itself at present, we really need to get ourselves in gear and do a bit of leaf clearing ! Love your site.I am finding it easier to get around now on WordPress, but still cannot find many of the old Friends. Was Toodie Babblelot one of yours ? If so do you know where she is now ?
    Look after yourself and keep warm !! Marjie x

Leave a Reply

