Its been an interesting time here in my garden this month, I found yet another little hedgehog but even smaller than the last one. She/he was also a little more lively , so I found yet another shoe box my last one this time. Cut a towel in half an old one and carefully placed the little fellow in side. It was late afternoon so dark was descending very quickly , so I decided to put him in the back store cupboard. Peeking in on him I noticed he had climbed out of the box, hungry and looking for that last meal before hibernating. Dog food they love it , so to my surprise ate it there and then slurp slurp till it had all gone. Left him in peace , and guess what he crawled back into his box and went to sleep.

Next morning I took him to the vets where he will be picked up as before. It was a cold windy day but I decided to stay and do a bit of shopping. But first stop was an English breakfast and a mug of coffee. Lovely I thought gazing out of the window and watching everyone holding onto their coats and hats. There’s something warming and relaxing just sitting there and I thought I hope I don’t find anymore Hedgehogs as I have run out of old shoe boxes. :)Enjoy your week.

About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

11 responses »

  1. Arrrh Sheila, what a lovely blog, I hope the little thing survives and pulls through this winter, Im sure that it will be safe and sound now you rescued it.. I just hope the other creatures out there in the Winter Storms will fair as well.. For I think we are in for another bad winter this year, all the signs are pointing that way,..
    Thank you for taking time out to read and comment on my writings.. I am pleased you enjoying the tales I tell…
    Its finding the time these days as I am so busy at the moment.. Only a couple of weeks left now to becoming a Gran… 🙂 so the knitting needles have been clicking and I excitedly awaiting our first grandchild.. and still love it that its sex will be a suprise as many want to find out today….
    Wrap up warm in this windy wet weather Sheila and I can just eat an English breakfast with a cup of tea…. in fact I had better go and get some lunch lol…. Hugs Dreamwalker x

    • natswans says:

      AWWW first Granchild so will be a December baby, I remember you showing us the little knitted cardy’s. What a lovely time for you. Thank you for your visit 🙂

  2. penelopephoebe says:

    Well done, Sheila, for saving another poor mite. I do hope we do not have a harsh winter, despite the signs.

  3. technogran says:

    Where do you take them to Sheila? Your vets or is there a Hedgehog rescue near to you? I can remember we had a mother and her babies nesting under our large conifer at our old house. I used to love peeking out the window and seeing them saunter off somewhere at night.

    • natswans says:

      The Lady has a rescue centre on her own property, but also works in the Vets near her home. Rather than people trolling over to her house she picks them up at her workplace. Also easier to locate…thank you for your visit I don’t know if you will read this comment TG , rather than go to your WP, which is easier? Sheila.

  4. Anne says:

    My excuse for not getting the garden cleared and wintered is that I don’t want to disturb the hedgehog. I know its out there somewhere in the overgrowth and dead stuff, thats my excuse and I am sticking to it. Thanks for bolstering that decision for me!

    • natswans says:

      Well Anne that is a good excuse they do tend to head for the leaves in the hedges. But I am sure I saw a cat shortly before I came across the little guy. So maybe he got disturbed. Thank you for your visit. 🙂

  5. I so enjoyed this post and can appreciate the way you cared for this little cutie.

  6. Love your posts on all the lovely wildlife you have around you Sheila. We used to have hedgehogs in our garden, but when we got new neighbours they put up high wooden fences instead of the hedges that were there, consequently the hedgehogs can’t get through. I used to feed them dogfood and loved watching them. I hope you have a great weekend. Hugs Marjie x

  7. Arlene says:

    I was enjoying the comments till I read Marjies. , :-((, aren’t some people so thoughtless, it’s like round my way when they pave the soil over and grub up the bushes, where is the wildlife supposed to go for heaven’s sake, But to your blog, Loved it and I too am a nut for wildlife and have helped [I hope] several hedgehogs, can I just point out that what we get told that cat food is better than dog’s as it is higher in protein, but maybe I’ve been told wrong, I think I may go into Tiggywinkles website and find out, just in case I have one wander into the garden, I do know milk is a no, no. Good luck to the little pincushion, I’m sure he/she will be OK now. We had a hard frost last night. brrrrr

Leave a Reply

