Its been a lovely day here chilly but a pleasure to walk around the garden, feeling the crisp leaves under foot. I heard a strange noise coming from the site next door, can’t see through the thick trees at the moment. They to have put a large pond on their land, the sound was coming from there. I shall be having a peak later to see I think it could be ducks , another kind of breed as they sound very unfamilar.

Yesterday I cooked for the first time a chocolate cake, the recipe was given to me by my darling neice. I followed it to the last detail , and it actually turned out quite nice I must say. It dripped in yummy chocolate and choc buttons. Went down lovely with a nice cup of tea.

So pleased with the results

I am not usually known as a good cake maker but hey presto…Hope everyone has had a good weekend cheers , see you later.:)

About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

16 responses »

  1. penelopephoebe says:

    Looks great, Sheila. Wish I could have a slice.

  2. technogran1 says:

    Wow that looks delicious Sheila! Pass me a piece over here! Just a good job that you haven’t got K with you, or there’d be none left to have with that cuppa.

  3. penpusherpen says:

    oh yes, Indeedy, pass the ( chocolate, I love chocolate ) cake around. It looks wonderful Sheila. I like coffee best, but if it’s tea being offered, I’ll drink that too!! 🙂
    hugs to you..xPenx
    (was it ducks?)

  4. Pat . says:

    Yes – that cake does look good.
    I had some unfamiliar sights and sounds yesterday in the backyard – yellow birds flapping around and singing about it. I looked up my book and tentatively concluded that they must be yellow hammers (still not sure – I just do not see “yellow” birds around here). I had to tell the next-door neighbours cat off as well – he was attracted by the noise and had a hungry look on his face.

    • natswans says:

      Bet that was a lovely sight I aways get my birdbook out for ref on seeing a stranger in the midst. It gives you a kinda buzz when that happens. Good to keep the cats away though, Often get cats here from next doors site, when the baby ducklin arrive you should see me running around chasing them away like a demented woman LOL

  5. Anne says:

    Oh no! temptation everywhere for chocolate cake recently and now one with Buttons. And here was me quite pleased with having lost half a stone since Isobel was born (not ideal to have lost it through worry but lost all the same and best keep off).
    Dragons Den had an online recipe exchange website last night, so being a noseache I had a look, there was a recipe for an Easy, quick chocolate mug cake that I really must have a closer look for today.
    Will your baby ducks fly away for winter or stay with you?

    • natswans says:

      I know it tasted delicous Anne , there was a microwave recipe going around a while back for a choc pudding in a cup. I tried it a couple of times it was quite good I must say, don’t know where the recipe is now though.
      The ducks stay through winter because we feed them on rolled oats from the farm. Some do however take off when the composition get high. There plenty of palce around here for them to go, lakes and ponds.

  6. Its 10am Sheila and that tea and Cake would just go down a treat right now.. in fact the kettle is just going on, and where is that cake tin??.. LOL.. I will have to get my baking hat on again.. it looks delicious.. Hope you have a pleasent week Sheila. x

    • natswans says:

      Hi Dreamwalker it was worth the effort I was really pleased with it. Especially on a cold day and I can’t get out into the garden…Have a good week take care.x

  7. Hi Sheila
    That chocolate cake looks delicious ! I took it into my head to make a sponge today, but it has come out more like a pancake ! In the past my sponges came out really well but for some reason I have lost the knack — probably too impatient !
    I think I have subscribed to your site – I hope so any way.
    Love Marjie x

    • natswans says:

      Oh Marjie have another go I’m sure you will do well next time, was it the cold weather lured you into the kitchen I wonder. It always put me in a mood to try something different, hence my choc cake….

Leave a Reply

