UmbrellaWell it’s been a blustry week and today is no different . Yesterday I managed to take a walk along the Canel , its about 16miles away. I was excited to see a new arrival there a single swan, she must have flowen in over the past few weeks. You see the two resident swans died back in February , they had been there for a number of years. So the locals were quite up set about it. Tests were done on the pair to find the cause of death. As it happens the male had an enlarged heart and the female a virus. So the findings were satisfactory ,there where no foul play.
So I was surprised to to see the new arrival unfortunatley she is on her own. Lets hope there is a new guy in town very soon. Will keep you posted. Enjoy the rest of the long weekend , I have two lovely chocolate eggs to enjoy on Sunday. Take care I hope the sun is shining for you. Red rose
 
About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

9 responses »

  1. Curiosity says:

    I have resisted to urge to get any choc eggs so far.If it were not so muddy underfoot I would have taken the dog for a walk along our river this afternoon as the sun is quite bright now.

  2. penny says:

    I trust Wile-e enjoyed the canal side walk. Mmmm, chocolate eggs; I wish I could eat some:)

  3. Sheila says:

    Yes Penny he did indeed I think he is used to ducks now. He just gets too excited meeting people bless him.

  4. Beth says:

    The walk sounds very enjoyable. The swan looks so majestic. I hope he/she soon finds a mate. My best to you and Wile-e.

  5. Babblelot says:

    Sorry to hear about the swans. I hope this new swan has a mate and will arrive soon.Have a nice Easter.

  6. Dreamwalker says:

    Oh I do so hope there’s another mate for her.. Lovely picture.. and you got the Sun out for a while. Lol.. Raining Cats and Dogs here again… Happy Easter Sheila xx

  7. Dianne says:

    Hi Sheila, It was nice to see you stopped by, and thankyou for the well wishes. I woke up this morning with laryngitis and can’t talk. So it will be a quiet day around here accept for my coughing. I am going to stay in today and rest. Anyway enough about me. I hope you are well and Wile-e also. It sounds like you had a lovely walk down by the canal. You probably have had a few more since then. It is nice that you have a new swan and hopefully a potential mate will come by also. Is there any chance this could be a sibling to the swans that died? They must have had a few baby chicks over the years. Maybe that is why this one has come or maybe this one lost its mate and is kinda lost.I do hope it finds a mate. They are such beautiful birds. I saw a couple flying, for the first time this spring. I was in awe of how fast and graceful they were. It was a real treat to see but I did not have time to get my camera to get a picture. One day I will.:)Well I hope you have a wonderful day and weekend.Happy Spring! Dianne 🙂

  8. Arlene says:

    Just catching up on blogs, and wondering how this swan is gettting on, has it found a mate yet? going down through some more of your blogs, I wanted to put in a pic in you GB but spaces won’t let me.

  9. Sheila says:

    Hi Arlene I last saw this swan 4weeks ago no mate I think he or She will move on. Thank you one again for your visits take care enjoy the sun.

Leave a Reply

