WinkIts pretty cold here so where’s the best place to be , cooking tasty dishes in the Kitchen. First off batches of shortcrust  pastry and put them in the fridge wrapped in greaseproof paper. Come on Wile-e lets go for a walk in the garden , the garden this time of year is quite messy and all I can see is a few snowdrops and daffodills starting to sprout up. There’s plenty of birds flocking to my bird area and the peanut feeder. It was so chilly we decided to go indoors. My finished product was cheese and onion and potatoe pie. mmmm so good on a cold day.So help yourselves to a slice my friends.
Hope you are all having a good day, the sun is actually out today Sunso thats good Wile-e sends you all a hug too.
About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

19 responses »

  1. penny says:

    Your pie looks simply yummy.

  2. Curiosity says:

    Who cares about all that cholesterol, looks really really good. So good that I bet one slice is not enough. Thanks for the taster.

  3. Beth says:

    The pie looks wonderful. Will you share the recipe with us?Hugs for you and Wile-e.

  4. commander says:

    mmmmmmmmmmm crusty pie .do you rent rooms ?

  5. Marjie says:

    Mmmm that looks good Sheila. Think maybe might have to do a bit of cooking myself ! Had more snow here today, very cold now, hope not too much snow around tomorrow as we have to travel to the hospital again. Hope all is well with you x

  6. Sheila says:

    Glad you all enjoyed that pie. Beth you make the shortcrust pastry roll and wrap in greaseproof paper put in fridge for 1-2 hours to chill. Meanwhile cook onions do some mash potatoe cream them with milk and a little flour to thicken. Grate plenty of cheese mix altogether cool down first. Line a deep tin place all gently in the centre and place the top on. Whisk an egg and brush lots of egg on top of the pastry.

  7. Curiosity says:

    You make that seem so easy. I suppose a bit of chopped bacon would go into it as well. It is now on my list of things ‘to do’.

  8. Beth says:

    Thank you Sheila. That sounds easy and so good. I have never seen a pan that deep here. I bet we don’t have them in the U.S.

  9. Paul says:

    Sheila my mother made something similar except she would add either broccoli or swiss chard or spinach and she wouldn’t put it in a pan. She put the filling on some flattened dough then put a similar of dough on top and pinch the edges together.Oh the weather forecasters were talking a fairly big snowstorm and we got a dusting. I want a bumper sticker for my car that says "I survived the dusting of 2010.

  10. Sheila says:

    Sounds good Paul I think you can put almost anything you fancy in a pie this deep , bacon sounds good and spinach. It tasted good even cold for lunch the next day . Heavy frost here last night the ground is very hard. Its quite bright and the sun is out . Brrr that sounds very cold there in Boston Paul. Keep warm everyone.

  11. Babblelot says:

    This looks delish. What type of pan did you bake this in I wonder. Soon will be Spring, hang in there.

  12. Charlotte M Simonsen says:

    yummers… that does look good… thanks for sharing… hugs, lottemae

  13. Rosemary says:

    Looks lovely

  14. Poppy says:

    Oooooh I could just eat a BIG slice of that right now, it looks gorgeous! Hugs to you and wile-e xxxxxx

  15. Dianne says:

    Any leftovers Sheila? It seems I am always too late getting here when food is being served. It looks really good. Thanks for the recipe. Give Wile-e a big hug for me. I hope she hasn’t had any more muscle spasms. We hardly have had any snow here where I live in Canada. Usually we have an abundance but not so far this winter. It is really messy here also and you can imagine poor Jesse by the time we get home, even with his little coat on . Can’t keep booties on him. They just wont stay on for long so I gave up on them. It is so funny when I do put them on him , it is as if he needs to learn how to walk all over again. He sounds like a little horse prancing around when he has them on. Too funny 🙂 Well you two take care and have a nice Sunday.Dianne 🙂

  16. Dreamwalker says:

    Yummy…… that looked mouth wateringly Good.. shame missed the share out.. lol…… give Wile-e a big Hug back.. and a pat on the back to you.. lol….. Super Cook… lol……….. xx

  17. Sherrilynn says:

    Yummy… I’ll take the piecake and I give wile-e and you a big hug too. Thanks for your visits and wonderful comments. Stay well and warm my dear friend.

  18. Curiosity says:

    Have you taken your new blog about the snow off?!

  19. Arlene says:

    Is there any of that pie left by any chance? I’m getting a bit bored with salad, and being on my own, it seems a bit much trouble just for one, the address is ~]@+8^7% just in case you make another.

Leave a Reply

