Umbrella I am not a one to blog on a regular basis , but I do enjoy reading your stories some as I’ve  said before make me laugh and some bring a tear to my eye. A lump in my throat you know that feeling , well  I encounted one of those one day this week. It just happened in my garden as most of you know it is about 2.2 acres, with a lake at the top of the garden. With little nookes and crannies , most wildlife that come here find a peaceful haven. The tree that sits just at the side of the pond by the drive , always brings a pair of ringed kneck Doves. These birds are so special as they stay together till as I may say (death us do part) Walking just past the tree with Wile-e I often look up to see them looking down at me. It always brings a cheer to my heart. Only a couple of months ago one of the Doves disappeared. Leaving the other one alone.
She still visited the garden and the very same tree  every day, and  she would take a drink from the bird table, or just sit on the ariel on the roof. Suppose I just got used to seeing her there, until two days ago she sat on the conservatory roof (never before) looking quite exhausted. She sat there most of the day until early evening (while walking Wile-e) She fluttred gently down to the path-way and then under the hedge near to where I walk every day. Dusk was upon us so we left her there, she passed away in the night. Normally we wouldn’t see this happen , as you don’t often see dead birds lying around in your garden , they simply just fly off some where to die. So it seemed to me as if to say her last good bye.Wilted rose
The rain has been fairly heavy this week bringing quite a lot of floods in certain parts of the country. As I write this the rain is easying off , but there is more to come tomorrow. Till next time take care and have a good Weekend .
 This was taken one evening last week as you look up towards the lake. Nov 2009 .
 
About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

10 responses »

  1. Beth says:

    What a very sad story. I love to watch doves. They are slow and methodical and give you plenty of watching time.The picture is beautiful!

  2. Marjie says:

    Sad story Sheila. I love these doves too, they always seem so gentle. Hope you have a good weekend. Beautiful picture x

  3. penny says:

    That is a very poignant story; almost like she died of a broken heart. Love the photo, see ya, Pen.

  4. Poppy says:

    Sheila I reckon she came back to you because she had lovely memories of her life in your garden…wonderful sunset picture, the colours are gorgeous 🙂 xx

  5. Babblelot says:

    The dove was a friend to the end. So sad my dear.

  6. Pat says:

    A tear to my eye and a lump in my throat…

  7. GreatGranny says:

    I’ve heard that doves mate for life. This is such a sad thing and I, too, wonder if she died of a broken heart. Beautiful pic .

  8. Dreamwalker says:

    Arrrh Sheila… yes birds bond together many for life, Its sad … Maybe she came by just to tell you she was going.. and like Great Granny Bee wrote maybe she died of a broken heart searching for her mate… Birds survive death and the minute she she left this realm she flew into the light of the Spirit realm where she would be once again flying with her loved one… Beautiful Sunset too… xx

  9. Palla-Jane says:

    Oh Sheila, nature is as nature is. Doves do mate for life, as do swans and pelicans – most birds. I have a pair of turtle doves that have lived in my tree for 4 years now. They bill and coo, and it is a joy to watch them in the mornings. They are quite used to me, and come close. (Until Jedda decides ‘stay away from my mum"!) I doubt I could bear having one of them die in my yard.Love the picture – take care my friend! Luv ‘n smiles. (Heat here is exhausting!)

  10. Rosemary says:

    What a sad story. Life can be cruel at times. Enjoyed your picture

Leave a Reply

