Eye-rolling Well the rain has finally arrived here in the country. In the next field there are horses and you know what that means horse flies ugh!! While walking around the garden with Wile-e I got attacked three times, you don’t actually feel them till it’s too late. Little beggers, Wile-e hates them he keeps snapping at them. They actually suck your blood with thier little needles yak..The mole is back I counted eight mole hills yesterday morning, the ground is getting very dry so it must be getting hard work for them. Have you ever seen a mole they are so cute lovely soft fur you can even imagine, and thier little claws are so tiny.  How do I know I found a dead one on the Lawn they sure do make a mess I know but I just couldn’t help feeling sorry for the little guy all the same.
Moorhens have just had a few more baby chicks little black balls of fluff. Can’t get a picture just yet as they in the bull rushes. AWWWW so cute. It’s much cooler today so will carry on with the garden in between showers, maybe it will be easier pulling the weeds up. Have a great Weekend all.Red rose
 
About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

9 responses »

  1. Dreamwalker says:

    Beautiful rose… and the heavens have opened and I think we may need to build the ark today lol… the soil is so dry the rain has just ran off the top.. until it soaked in… Its been bouncing on the ground now for 2hours.. The gardens and allotments sure need the rain.. Good job Hubby did some more strawberry and raspberry picking in the allotments last night.. We got Peas, potatos and beets.. I wont be around for a for a while after Sunday… taking a short break.. xx take care Sheila.. Hugs xx

  2. Patsy says:

    Thats a beautiful Rose, my roses did so well in the spring, now all the leaves have fallen off and I think it’s because of all the rain we’ve had?? I don’t know but I hated seeing them going from beautiful to barren, no not one leaf left on the bush!!! We have a fly here I call a May fly and it bites too. Hate those things. Sounds like you and Wile see a lot of nature and can’t wait to see the picture of the moorhens. Have a great weekend and enjoy your rain, we have had way too much. Hugs, Pat

  3. Beth says:

    What a beautiful rose…Flies, I hate them, they are so nasty and boy are they fast when you try to swat one of them. LOLHave a wonderful weekend.

  4. Dianne says:

    Came to see what the buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz was. Nasty little critters for sure. Love your roses. So Beautiful. Sounds like those ducks are busy . Can’t wait to see your new baby ducks. Give Wile-e a big hug for me. Jesse snaps at those little critters too , including bees. I am afraid one of these days he is going to actually catch one and get stung. I hope for his sake he doesn’t.Take care Sheila , and have a wonderful weekend.xx’s Dianne 🙂

  5. Poppy says:

    I love reading about all the animals where you live Sheila, it sounds such a great place to live, although the horse flies don’t sound soo good!!! Glad you have sympathy with the moles, I know they must be annoying to some people, but that is how they live isn’t it? It must be very hard work for them…. I love the photo of your rose, this time of year is great isn’t it?? xx

  6. Palla-Jane says:

    Flies? Hate the things – unfortunately, Aussie is full of them! Jedda is quite an expert at catching them – which makes me scream. Love to hear about the animals Sheila – they are so different than here. I have Kanga’s and wombats often – as well as frilled neck lizards and goannas. Enjoyed your post. Have a great weekend. Luv ‘n smiles.

  7. Paul says:

    Well we finally got rid of the rain. We have had the most dismal June. I think we only had three days of sunshine the whole month. There have been rain clouds over eastern Massachusetts and the Boston area for almost 30 days. I don’t think we have horse flies but then there are no horses around here, just people who eat like them. I’m sure there are moles except most of them work for the F.B.I.

  8. Rosemary says:

    Horse flies give you a nasty bite. Photo is really lovely

  9. GreatGranny says:

    Horse flies…awful creatures. This pink rose is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

