SunIt’s a lovely morning here in the West Country. Thought I would just share this with you on return from my holiday I promised a friend I would take care of her canary for a week whilst she goes on holiday. I just love having him here he sings so sweetly and loves gazing out onto the back garden and watching all the birds flitting around. I have looked after him before so it’s always a pleasure and my friend knows he is in good hands, all animals in this house are truly loved and taken care of well. Anyway by the 5th day Sunnie thats his name was sitting all puffed up and didn’t make a murmer, and by early evening looked a little out of breath and was sitting on the bottom of his cage. I really started to worry by this time and kept checking on him to see if he had picked up, by 8pm no he hadn’t. oH DEAR ! I covered him up and said good night with a sad look on my face. zzzzzzzz
Next morning I peeped in his room to see if he had made it through the night, !!!  Alas he had, peering into his cage I noticed something very strange an egg , oh how I laughed identity crisis to say the least . To my relief I can tell you  nothing worse than a animal pegging out while you are looking after it for some one else. HURRAH HE is a She. Open-mouthed
Enjoy your day where ever you may be or doing.Sun
 
About natswans

A young at heart Lady now retired and just trying to enjoy Life and making the most of things. Passionate about the Wildlife. I have owned two Greyhounds over the past 12 years, and just Love them to bits. Soon I will rescue another . The country is the place to be if you love the peace it holds.I love walking along the beach on a fine day sun even better. Reading Posts about other peoples every day lives , in my home land England and other parts of the world.

9 responses »

  1. Paul says:

    Whoops!

  2. penny says:

    A happy ending to a worrying tale.

  3. Palla-Jane says:

    Oh, Sheila! Don’t we worry more about our friends animals & birds than our own when we are caring for them? I really don’t want to worry you further, but I had what I thought was a male budgie. Then HE laid an egg. she died 2 days later. Vet told me she was egg bound. I think Canary needs a mate to help her! Thank you for kind words – my poor little Jedda is soldiering on, but miserably. I love her to death, and it is killing me to see her so unwell. Worse, she will only let me near her now, and is frightened of everybody! Take care Hun. Sending you smiles.

  4. Beth says:

    Congrats to Sunnie! and what a surprise for you. 😉

  5. Dianne says:

    Glad to hear there is a happy ending to this canary tale. What a relief for you I am sure! 🙂

  6. Babblelot says:

    Oh my gosh!

  7. Duckie says:

    Oh. I love the expression "pegging out." I’ll have to rememver that one. Thrre cheers to Sunnie.

  8. Dana says:

    An egg? The bird layed an egg? Geesh! That will be the last time you’ll be babysitting, they leave and their bird gets knocked up. Or do birds have to get knocked up, oh no wait, I think they just lay an unfertilized egg?? I should have paid more attention to the birds and the bees talk!

  9. Marjie says:

    Thanks for sharing this Sheila, I know how you must have felt ! Have a good week x

Leave a Reply

